OSSN-0009: Potential token revocation abuse via group membership

Summary

Deletion of groups in Keystone causes token revocation for group members. If group capabilities are delegated to users, they can abuse those capabilities to maliciously revoke tokens for other users.

Affected Services / Software

Keystone, Grizzly, Havana, Icehouse

Discussion

If a group is deleted from Keystone, all tokens for all users that are members of that group are revoked. By adding users to a group without those users’ knowledge and then deleting that group, a group admin can revoke all of the users’ tokens. While the default policy file gives the group admin role to global admin, an alternative policy could delegate the create_group, add_user_to_group, and delete_group capabilities to a set of users. In such a system, those users will also get a token revocation capability. Only setups using a custom policy file in Keystone are affected.

Contacts / References

Author: Nathan Kinder, Red Hat